Another day, another audition. I think I’ve grown numb to the excitement and jitters. But that was kind of the point of making myself go to so many auditions.

I don’t really know anything about either of the shows I auditioned for, but they are collaborative projects put on by the dance community. There were four choreographers at the ____ Project and five at ______ Dance Festival.

Both auditions were similar to each other, and they were similar to how auditions were run in college. We show up, we get a little bit of a warm up, and then each choreographer takes a turn teaching material. Like any other audition, we were asked to perform it in smaller groups.

The _____ Project audition came a few days after Trump was elected president, and there was visible upset in the community. Parking on Capitol Hill was impossible as I looped the block again and again, passing protesters with signs and wary-eyed police officers.

The audition space was an old Value Village. It’s a huge amount of empty space with a slippery wood floor. This time, there was marley put down at least, but it was so incredibly slick that I still had to take off my socks.

Normally this isn’t a problem, but it was very cold in that space. My toes were freezing, and I didn’t really end up taking off my sweater, which I had intended to leave on only for my warm up. It was part way through the audition that I realized what I’ve turned into – I’ve got the short uneven hair, wearing an overly large old man sweater, dancing in a converted space to the sounds of protest outside. I had the sudden urge to eat a quinoa salad and chug a kambucha. The community held a meeting on the floor below us, and when we lay on the ground in a big X, we could hear them talking about the pipeline debacle. It was an odd feeling.

Both auditions were made up of phrase movement and improvisation. It was all standard modern/contemporary dance stuff, really – move with a clear initiation point, move as though you’re trying to embody water, find a gesture you like and repeat it.

There was a decent amount of floorwork, enough that my left knee is covered in bright red bruises. It feels good to be sore again.

The Seattle dance community has thus far been pretty open and welcoming. I didn’t feel the “Seattle freeze” when I was at either audition, and the choreographers were all pretty open about what they wanted, and they wanted to just see us dance, not for us to try to impress them. IMG_9301

Likewise, the other dancers were all generally friendly, and it was easy to partner with people when that was what we were asked to do. Nobody was warming up by sitting in their splits or performing outrageous tricks in a display of showmanship or intimidation.

By the end of it all, I got offers from four choreographers across the two auditions. I’m not entirely sure what I’m going to do yet, because of scheduling.

I would be lying if I said I didn’t feel some sort of validation. I’m three for three in the auditions I’ve done since moving to Seattle. My score before that was significantly less impressive.

