I haven’t written in a while. My brother died on April 21st. He was nineteen years old.

I’m not sure how I’m coping. I’ve been writing a lot. I wrote 53,000 words for a rough outline of my next manuscript, and I’m 18,000 words into the second draft (the chronological one that’s more “formal” than a brainstorming outline). Writing is one of the only things I can focus on right now.

I’m not dancing right now. I got an understudy position with MuddyFeet, but I have to turn it down because I’m moving back to Idaho until next spring. I’ll be a full time student so I can continue to take dance at the university. I got a lot of good training from there, and my favorite professor is still there.

I’ll be doing SFDI, the Seattle improv dance festival, at the end of July, and I’m also going to be in a piece choreographed by my professor that will be part of a small festival in New York at the end of the summer. Doug Varone’s company has a choreographer-mentorship program, and my professor got one of the spots (so proud of her. Is that weird?). She has to create a piece, and she chose me to be one of her dancers. Obviously, I’m excited and honored.

So I will be dancing this summer, in rehearsals and in Seattle. I plan to get into Olympic-athlete shape, since exercising and writing are the only things I want to do right now.

I’m not at all sad to leave PDX, for some reason. I was really tired of working so much, and everything in Idaho is just so much more spread out, less expensive, and prettier. I’m glad to be here right now. 

